A Month of Love
This month being valentines I am giving you a homework assignment if you so choose to take it. 28 days of love thy self!

Day 1-
I did this one a couple of years ago. body paint love messages to yourself all over your body and take pics of it. For those of you that can’t draw or paint stand in front of mirror and list all those things you love about yourself.
Day 2-
Love note Jar remember all those things you said or painted on day one today write them down and put in a pretty jar to last you the whole year. For those of you that would rather then write a list of affirmations and repeat them each day to fill your jar. you can take the whole month to write notes or affirmation to fill your jar. Then take your time pulling one out a day and reading them to do over again and again.IMG_0877

day 3-
Spa day! A gift to yourself some of you will have to work this one in or it might only be a couple of hours after work but don’t forget. spend 5 dollars at the dollar store and pick you up a couple of nice little things to make this time special then grab a good book or movie a couple of treats and let today say I LOVE U to yourself.
day 4- pocket treasure
Today you are to find a small item that will easily fit in your pocket. It can be a rock with the word love painted on it. if you love angels it can be a pendent of an angel. Myself I love butterflies and mind is the butterfly from the kids cycle of life kit. Now carry it in your pocket from this day on and every time your hand touches it say aloud I love myself. Ya can be funny some of the places I have ended up having to say aloud I love myself, but have come to realize the more embrassing the place the deeper it touches my being to hear it.
day5-
Today forget the diet. Forget what you should do. Take today to treat yourself. Mind is homemade fudge. I can still taste: Christmas fudge the only time year I get fudge, so today it is my treat, it doesn’t have to be food it can be anything an extra bit of sleep, a walk in the park at lunch. Just remember it is to be a special treat to yourself.
Day6-
A quiet moment! yes I said a quiet moment and today with our life’s full of stress and demands from us to take a few moments of nothing but quietness with ourselves can sometimes be very uncomfortable. Take this moment today to listen to your soul and hear it for what it is. Then you can go back to your busy life, but your soul will thank you for a moments notice.
day7-
Do everything for you today the way you like it. Ya I know I have a family too and they don’t like the same foods as I do, but quess what, all year I eat the foods they like no matter if I like them or not so today they get to eat my favorite foods. They get to watch what I want to watch and all things are done on my time frame. This is MY DAY and I DECLARE it because I love ME!
day 8-
today laugh out loud day! find something anything that strikes you funny once an hour and laugh out loud! Even if it is just of the face those around you made the first hour you started this LOL. watch out laughter is as catching as yawns and pretty soon a lot will be laughing with you.
day9-
Forgive yourself. Don’t punish yourself for something you have done in the past. Instead, look at the mistake as a learning experience. Say to yourself now: “I forgive myself for _______.” Go look in a mirror and say it out loud to yourself. Look yourself right in the eyes and speak forgiveness like you mean it. Don’t ever demean or ridicule yourself. If you do, laugh out loud, realizing that was then and this is now. Every day is a new beginning. If you did something you are not proud of, resolve to never do it again, and take steps to keep it out of your mind.
day 10-
Embrace negatives and turn them into positives. Every time you realize a negative emotion, pause and feel it; then thank yourself for feeling it, accepting it. Emotions are nothing more than internal experiences which contribute to who we are. Accepting problems (negative things) as opportunities (good things) in another perspective can yield great results (problem solving). We are all going to have our rough days be in that moment then let it go.
day 11-
Treat yourself like you treat your very best friend. How do you treat your very best friend? Do you treat him/her with love, kindness, trust, appreciation, acceptance, and respect? If you can give that to your friend, why can’t you give that to yourself? Practice treating yourself like you treat your very best friend, by saying kind words to yourself. Stop calling yourself names. Stop beating yourself up. Give yourself compliments. Know your boundaries, and listen deeply to your needs. Always be kind and gentle with yourself. Erase the Negative tapes and replace them with loving kind ones.
day 12-
Do something you love today. Read a book, paint a picture, go for a hike. What do you love to do? Today to that thing you love.
day 13-
Drop a package, note, card or something in the mail addressed to yourself that says I love you! You will receive this back in a day or two usually the next day. Won’t it be fun tomorrow being valentines that your received a valentine from yourself, saying I love you?
day14-
Valentines- you should receive your valentine from self today. today is celebrate with those you love their love for you and yours for them. it can be friends, family, partner, child doesn’t matter today glow in the love have for you and receive it. express your love to others. want get really crazy end every phone call with I love you. I did this or year and had to explain to many people I can love them even don’t know them such as telemarketers LOL.
day15-
Practice saying “no”. This one was really hard for me. I didn’t think I was a people pleaser, but this gift to myself proved me wrong. It is okay to say “no” to people when you do not feel like doing something. Do not feel guilty about it. Just realize that you have the right to do so. This is different from doing things out of love. If you do things out of love, and your heart wants to do them, that is a different story. When your heart does not want to do it, and you feel like you have to please someone, and make others happy by over-extending yourself.
⦁ Learning how to say “no” is an art. It takes practice. You might say “Thank you for asking. I am not ready to commit to doing anything right now.” You cannot please everyone.
⦁ When you say “no”, remember to smile sincerely and say “no” gracefully.
day16-
Today we learn that we all come “AS IS” we have to learn we are just the way we are, accepting ourselves as is means we can change those things we may not want.
day 17-
today start a grateful journal. can be a simple notebook or on facebook, but today and for the rest of the month write down three things you were grateful thru out your day. It can be silly things as that last package of sugar for my coffee this morning, to true wonderful things as the beautiful sunset you got to wittiness with your own eyes.
day18-
do a random deed of kindness for someone else today. I know this is a love yourself month but loving others allows you to love yourself. Let someone in front of you in line, hole the door for the mother herding her children into store, or give a handful of change to a stranger just because. This will tell your soul I love you but I also love the world around me, and it will make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside as well.
day 19-
Stand up for yourself. An important part of loving yourself is sticking up for yourself. When someone is mean to you, you need to say something and let them know you’re not going to stand for that behavior. However, you shouldn’t be mean in return. You should never be mean. In doing so, you create the same environment for others that led you to not love yourself in the first place.
day 20-
Today buy yourself a gift no more than 10 dollars. half.com has love books for as low as .75 and shipping. Amazon as jewelry for pennies plus shipping. love shoes can find all kinds on the wish app for as low as 4 dollars plus shipping. Today take time to order yourself a gift or purchase one from the store. Please make it something that will last and something when you use you can be reminded to tell yourself you are loved!
day21-
Today make out a wish board, or a board of hope. piece of paper with clippings from magazine of the things that give you hope or that help you dream bigger and brighter. Be careful not to put things on your board that will drag you down because you just want more material items or that aren’t going to be within your means. my board wishes for spring flowers in my garden, baby animals to be born to the farm, and a night out with my hubby.
day22-
“Smize”. Yep smile with your eyes! At one time I could smile or even laugh (no not kidding) My first step was to learn to smile with my eyes then as I went thru my days trying to smize my way thru my began bringing that smile to my lips and finally learning to laugh. This will so brighten your life that you will soon find others smizing back. Learn how here http://www.wikihow.com/Smize
day23-
Picnic hehe yes know it’s February and some places it cold outside but winter picnics can be so much fun. Warm soup and fuzzy blanket on a trap and a good book in the park at lunch break is an amazing lunch on a picnic. For those of you that can brave the weather turn your desk at work into a fancy picnic and enjoy your lunch.
day 24-
Learn something new! I have found without in thought to it I learn live lessons each day. Today learn anything at all new!
day25-
Today give yourself a chance to touch your dreams. Everyone dreams, but not equally. Too many people dream only at night in the quiet of their own minds, and then awake to find it was all an illusion. Don’t be one of them. Dream by the day instead. Be one of the people who dream with their eyes wide open, and who works to make them come true. Rest when you are tired, but don’t give up. You never know what’s just around the corner. It could be everything you’ve been working for, or it might be just another mile marker on your journey. Either way, when you keep putting one foot in front of the other, one day the next step you take will be the one that carries you to your goal. Dream big today and reach for it!
day 26-
The freedom to express your whole truth. The greatest and most gratifying experiences in life cannot be seen or touched. They must be felt with the heart from the inside out. There’s nothing more inspiring than the complexity and beauty of human, heartfelt feelings. Sadly though, many people let the fear of judgment numb and silence them. Their deepest thoughts and feelings often go unspoken, and thus barely understood. Do NOT let people invalidate or minimize how you feel. If you feel something, you feel it and it’s real to you. Nothing anyone says has the power to invalidate that, ever. No one else lives in your body, or sees life through your eyes. No one else has lived through your exact experiences. And so, no one else has the right to dictate or judge how you feel. Your feelings are important. Don’t let anyone lead you to believe otherwise. Today feel your world!
day27-
Teach someone else it is okay to love themselves today. The greatest gift we can give ourselves is love and when we truly love ourselves we want to share ourselves with others. So today share your lessons in self love with another.
day28-
SCREAM “I LOVE MYSELF” you can do this where others will here it, or you can find a private spot and do it there but I do mean really SCREAM it! I know wasn’t easy for me either. believe it or not at one time I didn’t know how to scream I could yell but not scream.
day 29-
Just in case I forgot and this year is leap year one last assignment LOL.
repeat any of the above assignments you struggled with and know you are worthy of love as I love each of you and myself!!!

Please if you do this share with me your journey here or on facebook.

About bttrflysprit

Mother, daughter, wife, sister, MPD/DID, woman, someones child, are some of my titles. I am who I am and I am learning to be happy with that.

3 responses »

  1. Joann says:

    This isnt leapyear as they only fall on years divisible by 4. However your day 29 assignment is a great one for all of the 365 days unti l the 29th.

  2. Such a lot of good advice.

Leave a Reply

