We been in the dessert for about 7 months now. Me being the type of person that hates the dessert I am finding that this place is my little piece of heaven. The first month we were hear rainbows graced the sky, then came the covering of smoke of the summer fires states away, then the extreme heat we worked thru each of these to build our dream. Then cam winter and we all thought the world was ending when we got about 6 inches of snow in one night, and the temperature went down to -27F (yes is the dessert) but the beauty of the snow covered mountains surrounding us and the diamond sparkle of the snow across the valley we knew we wouldn’t exchange that extreme either. We have from getting straw or wood around here is very hard and expensive. having a well drilled is high on the list of what needs to be done but again hard to come by a driller and expensive. We live about 50 miles from the nearest food store and almost 30 from a little truck stop where the kids work. having a vehicle is a MUST! In January both vehicles broke down and for about two weeks we were fearful of getting stuck out on the land with no way in for food, water, or work but as always things go badly for a while and then things become better than ever and we found someone selling a caddie of all things it gets good gas mileage, runs, and is the nicest car we have ever owned, oh and even has a heater and air conditioner whoop!! So January being cold and not much work being done outside bought its adventures and blessing as well. The first week in February the new car broke down and we smiled because what could be better than what we already have but it was an easy fix and we are looking forward to putting in the pasture and doing what they call frost planting. I will begin to try the hydroponic gardening as soon as the nights aren’t so cold. I have learned so much in 7 months about myself and my dreams and although things don’t always go as planned or I have to slow down a bit here or there, life in my wilderness as I am now calling it as turned out to be the place I have been searching all my life for. My creative can go wild and fail or succeed depends only on me and my family. Looking so forward to spring. We should have baby chicks, rabbits, and a goat or two then plus hopping to get a couple of pigs and a milk cow. wanting to plant in 75-150 trees to block wind and give some shade. If the house in Ohio finally sells we will be able to afford the well to be drilled and be well on our way to craving out our own bit of heaven in this desert wilderness. I think I want to stay for a while LOL.
Happy Adventures to each of you.
Let me know what adventures this winter and new year have bought your way.

About bttrflysprit

Mother, daughter, wife, sister, MPD/DID, woman, someones child, are some of my titles. I am who I am and I am learning to be happy with that.

2 responses »

  1. Joann Grimmett says:

    It sounds like you are doing great. Life here has actually been much too dry. I am really concerned for the water for this summer. I have been staying very busy trying to keep up with Erics mission and taking him to speech language and occupational therapies and his other activities. I take baby Dominick to Denver again the middle of March. We love you lots. Stay strong.

    Sent from Samsung tablet

    • bttrflysprit says:

      It rained here for two days and soaked everything to the max which was really great expecting another rain storm Wednesday so hope it is a good one. planting out 75 trees and grass and wild flowers thrusday.

Leave a Reply

