We all grow up with rules sometimes it takes us a lifetime to figure out that they affect us. I often find myself saying “it is just how I was raised.” Then a couple of weeks ago the thought popped into my head, yes, I was raised that way but that doesn’t mean as an adult I have to live that way. Then I began to ask myself what rules written or unwritten was I raised with that I disagree with now? Some call them old tapes others call them childhood voices I just call them rules.

When I was a child I lived as a child, I am not a child anymore and how I live doesn’t have to be according to how I did. Here is a list of a few of the rules that I am abandoning as an adult.

1. Wearing make up means your a whore.

2. Women are put on the earth to have babies and service men.

3. Long hair means you’re a woman, short hair means you a man.

4. A woman’s job is family and home.

5. To mark the body in anyway is wrong this includes piecing of ears.

6. Don’t question your elders about anything, even if only a couple years older than you.

7. Money is the root of all evil and you should remain without it your whole life. ( I don’t like having a lot of money now for different reasons)

As we grow up these rules restrict who we are and what we do. Often we even make more rules for ourselves based on the old ones till one day we are so bound by all the rules that we can’t move forward any longer. Don’t get me wrong we all need some rules and boundaries but too many and we become stagnant. I have found that is time for me to question childhood rules and see if they apply to my adulthood and who I want to be. As a child I was molded to what others wanted me to be, now as an adult I can choose to remain that way or change.

I declare 2013 a year to break all the rules and see how far I can fly!

 

About bttrflysprit

Mother, daughter, wife, sister, MPD/DID, woman, someones child, are some of my titles. I am who I am and I am learning to be happy with that.

2 responses »

  1. I totally agree with you Donna. I am joining you by breaking the rules in 2013, let’s fly together.

  2. Vicki says:

    I also agree with you. what was then no longer applies now we are not young children nor with out our own thoughts and beliefs. we are highly capable of reasoning on our own. A really good idea breaking all the rules in 2013. Love it think i might have to break few of my own.

Leave a Reply

