Not long ago I was reminded by some dear friends of a safe place I created years ago. I had forgotten that I had somewhere to run to when life got overwhelming. I want to share it here for any of you that may need a safe place during those rough times, and for any that may have forgotten they once had a safe place to go to.

Close your eyes and breath deep picture yourself in a meadow surrounded by tall grasses with sweet smelling flowers. Notice the butterflies and bees busy at work and allow yourself to slow down. Feel the breeze brush your sun kissed cheeks know that it is only a short journey to a safe place. Breath deep again, as you watch the eagle soaring high above you make your way to the edge of the meadow. Standing at the beginning of the forest feel the coolness as it relieves some of the heat. Notice the deer and other animals as they leave a clear path for you to follow. Taste the wild berries and let the juice run down your chin, listen to the water as it bubbles off in the distance. Slowly make your way towards the sound of the water. As you turn the bend you find the waterfall splashing playfully into a pool beneath it. This is the healing pool, take off your shoes and feel the slightly cold water, as it touches you you can feel the release of all your worries. Bath in it to rid yourself of hurts, anger, fear and all unpleasantries. When you leave the pool the cold rushes in almost taking your breath away. Rush into the cabin sitting back away from the bank feel the warmth of the fire awaiting your arrival. Smell and and taste the fresh made chocolate chip cookies and cocoa. If you choose to you can make your way to the giant feather bed that hold the quilt of love. When you wrap up in the quilt you can feel all the nurturing, and the unconditional love you have ever wanted. You are welcome to rest here for as long as is needed and return as often as you would like.

Oct. Is always a rough month but his year was rougher than it has been in several years. I thank my friends for reminding me of my safe place. I didn’t run and hide nearly as much in the years before this. I was able to reach out to several people and I want to thank each of them for keeping me sane. I am looking forward to getting back into the exploration of my journey and sharing it with you as we go.

Remember the destination isn’t the goal it is the journey it’s self that satisfies the soul.

About bttrflysprit

Mother, daughter, wife, sister, MPD/DID, woman, someones child, are some of my titles. I am who I am and I am learning to be happy with that.

One response »

  1. Vicki says:

    wonderful I feel as if I was walking there with you.

Leave a Reply

