Who knew this topic would cover so much? I certainly didn’t.

I believed many of the myths to self care. It selfish to put myself first, I have to do it alone, pampering me is self care, I am to busy to take care of me, and I can forus on one part of caring for myself and that will be enough; just to name a few. Then there are people around me that insist there needs are more important than mine or that I should be doing something like chores rather than taking care of me. This has gone on a major of my life and left me trier and burned out. It is no wonder that I didn’t like who I was and wanted to reinvent myself.

So what is self care? I found out it isn’t just pampering ones self, but had no idea what it really was. It is a balancing act. It is what drew me to You Unveristy. I found out that you have to take care of yourself on all levels. You have to changlle yourself and learn to grow, you have to soothe yourself during the rough times. I also learned that although others can help you along the way it is up to you to be you and take care of you. A well nourished self meets life filled up. You have more energy to participate
and give, to meet your challenges, and to do the inner work and self-healing
required to have high self-esteem, good relationships, and enjoyment of your
life.

How do we take care of ourselves on the different levels… this is my list.

PHYSICAL

get enough rest/ sleep (hard one for me)

exercise (another hard one)

eat right (you guessed it)

stop bad habits (hard)

hour a day in sun ( allegic so hard)

drink lots of water

learn about superfoods

grow a garden

EMOTIONAL

Express them openly

Breath deeply

learn to laugh

live in the moment

express though art

talk to a friend

take a positive risk for change

feel the fear and do it anyways.

MENTAL

learn something new

Say an affirmation

make a grateful list

do brain puzzles

learn new hobby/crafts

Make a list of short term and long term goals

take time to read a book

learn something new everyday

SPIRITUAL

Connect with Nature

pray

go to church (hard one)

forgive self and others  (hard one exspecial when comes to self)

Do something of service for another or for your community

Practice a daily quiet time, routine to connect spiritually

About bttrflysprit

Mother, daughter, wife, sister, MPD/DID, woman, someones child, are some of my titles. I am who I am and I am learning to be happy with that.

2 responses »

  1. Vicki says:

    like the way you did it and wrote it out , and i am sure you were more than welcome to write out more it is all about learning and that we are.

  2. I love your analysis of how you now care for yourself. It is good to break all those old patterns of thought. We are so conditioned – especially women – into thinking that everyone else comes before ourselves. Remember that balance is important in all areas too. Intelligent care of self, inside and out, physically and spiritually, is the way to go. it takes time and practice, of course, but it is great when we reach that point where we can pamper ourselves and really enjoy it without thinking we’re taking time away from anything or anyone else.

Leave a Reply

