We build trust in others as they full fill our expectations of them, but what if we had no expectation in the first place. What if we didn’t expect them to act or response in a certain way? They couldn’t hurt us or break our trust if we didn’t have the expectation in the first place. So why is trusting another so important? As  childern we learn to trust older and bigger people to protect us, which isn’t always the way it works. You would think you could trust the leaders such as police, judges, lawyers and so on, if you do beware they will break your trust at a higher cost than most.

In my life I have learned parents don’t protect and can’t be trusted to do so.

People don’t keep their word, handshake and even legal docaments can’t make them.

Police are bullies with a badge, judges take sides and lawyers are in it for the money.

Most try and hide who they are and doing so makes it harder for you to trust them.

Yes I do trust others, don’t get me wrong but not at the level of trust that I want to allow to them. I trust the other drivers on the road not to run into me but in the back on my mind my guard is up because even in trusting I know that it can happen and has happened to others. I watch the news.  To me this isn’t true trust because I know people will break my trust and I try to protect myself from that by not trusting… Which brings us to trust no one but yourself.

Can you truely totally trust yourself? Will you follow short of the expectations just as everyone else does in one way or another? Trust such is  a tricky word. I guess if you don’t have high expectations for yourself you can’t break your own trust. I know in my life I have not been able to protect myself completely from harm. So trusting even myself is difficult.

About bttrflysprit

Mother, daughter, wife, sister, MPD/DID, woman, someones child, are some of my titles. I am who I am and I am learning to be happy with that.

Leave a Reply

